The Pink Dolphins are from Delphinidae Family

The Pink Dolphins are from Delphinidae Family

The Delphinidae family, is made up of dolphins that people commonly know more about. These include include:

  • Common Dolphin
  • Risso's Dolphins
  • Bottlenose Dolphin
  • White-Sided Dolphin
  • White Beaked Dolphin
  • Dusky Dolphin
  • Falkland Island Dolphin
  • Hour Glass Dolphin
  • Peale's Dolphin
  • Sarawak Dolphin
  • Pygmy Killer Whales
  • Heaviside's Dolphin
  • White Bellied Dolphins
  • Orcas - also known as Killer Whales
  • False Killer Whales
  • Irrawaddy River Dolphins
  • Pilot Whales
  • Short-finned Pilot Whales
  • Broad Beaked Dolphins
  • Southern Right Whale Dolphins
  • Northern Right Whale Dolphins

The last family in the Odonticeti sub-order is the Phocoenidae family, which is made up of the various species of porpoises. This includes the Harbor Porpoise, Spectacled Porpoise, Black Porpoise, Black Finless Porpoise, Dall's Porpoise, True's Porpoise, Finless Porpoise, and Cochito Porpoise.

The final sub-order of cetaceans is the Archaeoceti family. This is the family of whale's that no longer exists. They are fossil whales, as they existed before dolphin's began to evolve, and they date back 50 million years.

Pink Dolphins are Cetaceans

Pink Dolphins are Cetaceans

All Pink dolphins belong to the cetacean family. The Cetacean order is broken down into sub-orders. In other words, the entire cetacean family is broken down into smaller families.

The first sub-order is the Mysticeti family, which is made up of Baleen Whales. These whales capture prey by straining water through a series of baleen plates in their mouths. Included in the Mysticeti family is the Balaenopteridae family, which is made up of Minke Whales, Sei Whales, Bryde's Whales, Blue Whales, Fin Whales, and the Humpback Whales. The next family of cetaceans in the Mysticeti group is the Balaenidae family. The Bowhead Whales, Northern Right Whales, Southern Right Whales, and Pygmy Right Whales make up this group, and they are characterized by their habit of being slow-moving, continuous filter feeders. Still in the Mysteiceti group, the next family is the Eschrichtidae family. This family is comprised of the Gray Whale.