The Pink Dolphins are from Delphinidae Family

The Pink Dolphins are from Delphinidae Family

The Delphinidae family, is made up of dolphins that people commonly know more about. These include include:

  • Common Dolphin
  • Risso's Dolphins
  • Bottlenose Dolphin
  • White-Sided Dolphin
  • White Beaked Dolphin
  • Dusky Dolphin
  • Falkland Island Dolphin
  • Hour Glass Dolphin
  • Peale's Dolphin
  • Sarawak Dolphin
  • Pygmy Killer Whales
  • Heaviside's Dolphin
  • White Bellied Dolphins
  • Orcas - also known as Killer Whales
  • False Killer Whales
  • Irrawaddy River Dolphins
  • Pilot Whales
  • Short-finned Pilot Whales
  • Broad Beaked Dolphins
  • Southern Right Whale Dolphins
  • Northern Right Whale Dolphins

The last family in the Odonticeti sub-order is the Phocoenidae family, which is made up of the various species of porpoises. This includes the Harbor Porpoise, Spectacled Porpoise, Black Porpoise, Black Finless Porpoise, Dall's Porpoise, True's Porpoise, Finless Porpoise, and Cochito Porpoise.

The final sub-order of cetaceans is the Archaeoceti family. This is the family of whale's that no longer exists. They are fossil whales, as they existed before dolphin's began to evolve, and they date back 50 million years.

No comments:

Post a Comment